HomeBlockchainMalta government signs a joint declaration on blockchain technology

Malta government signs a joint declaration on blockchain technology

The Government of Malta, together with Italy, Cyprus, Spain, Greece, Portugal and France, has signed a declaration of joint cooperation in the tech and blockchain sector, in order to become the leader of Southern Europe.

It happened this morning in Brussels, during the Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Council configuration (TTE) and the news immediately became viral on Twitter, shared by all 7 Mediterranean countries.

Below is the image of the declaration published directly by the official Permanent Representation of Malta for the EU channel:

Silvio Schembri, Minister of Finance, Digital Economy & Innovation in the Office of the Prime Minister of Malta commented in his tweet:

Proud to see the smallest nation in the EU taking a leading role“.

The commitment of the Mediterranean countries is to collaborate on cross-border projects related to technologies based on distributed ledgers, such as blockchain and distributed ledger technology (DLT).

Stefania Stimolo
Stefania Stimolo
Graduated in Marketing and Communication, Stefania is an explorer of innovative opportunities. She started out as a Sales Assistant for e-commerce, and in 2016 she began to develop a passion for the digital world, initially in the Network Marketing sector, where she discovered and became passionate about the ideals behind Bitcoin and Blockchain technology, which lead her to work as a copywriter and translator for ICO projects and blogs, and organize introductory courses.